I am thankful for my “fan”

2 months ago on Thanksgiving day, I asked my Thai students what they were thankful for. Many of them replied “I’m thankful for my fan.” I was confused and thought well, this could mean two things. Either they’re really hot due to the weather and need their fan to keep cool.. Or they are some kind of celebrity in the school who has a lot of fans. After two months of self-studying the Thai language, I learned today that I was wrong in both cases.. Fan in Thai is spelled แฟน and means “loved one” such as boyfriend, girlfriend, husband, wife, etc. Great. Problem solved two months later with my Thanksgiving assignments already corrected and graded. 😛 Happy late Thanksgiving, everyone.

Thanksgiving Turkey

Students contribution to Kru Kia’s beautiful Thanksgiving Turkey

 

One thought on “I am thankful for my “fan”

Leave a Reply

